Who do you remember?

Meet George H. Wildasin (lower left).  He was my grandfather’s brother and served during World War II and buried at Mount Olivet Cemetery.  Growing up I heard his name mentioned, and that is all I remember.  Now I wish I knew more about his life.  As a family genealogist, I am finding out bits and pieces, about his young wife who was burned to death following a seizure.

To the right of George is a very old grave marker for Henry Sherman, veteran of the War of 1812.  I stumbled across his stone one day walking through Mount Olivet Cemetery.  I went home to research his name, and learned that Henry was an uncle to George’s mother, Amelia Sherman-Wildasin.  I also learned that Henry’s father was Conrad Sherman, who was a General during the American Revolutionary War. Conrad is buried at Sherman’s Church.

Veteran of World War II
George H. Wildasin, World War II
War 1812 to 1814_Sherman maybe
Henry Sherman, War of 1812

I ask all of you, who do you know at Mount Olivet Cemetery?  You might be surprised!

Published by

Discoverer of legacies.

My journey with the Daughters of the American Revolution started with this tombstone of Ida May Sherman. My research has gone beyond my ancestors to the discovery of the historic mysteries that lie within cemeteies.

Leave a comment